Understanding the Woodcock-Johnson III Tests of Cognitive Abilities

September 29, 2013 0 Comments

The Woodcock-Johnson III Tests of Cognitive Abilities, commonly known as the WJ-III, is one of the most widely-used individual ability tests. If your child is scheduled to take this important test, here's a few things you should know...

How is the Woodcock-Johnson test different from other tests?

What makes the Woodcock-Johnson III different from other tests is that it was designed to assess specific abilities, not just provide a total score based on a few cognitive factors. This allows for a detailed analysis of a person’s cognitive abilities – revealing areas of greater or lesser abilities. It can be administered to children from age 2 up through adulthood.

What are the cognitive skills assessed in this test?

The cognitive skills assessed in the WJ-III include:

  • Comprehension-Knowledge
  • Long-Term Retrieval
  • Visual Processing
  • Auditory Processing
  • Fluid Reasoning
  • Processing Speed
  • Short-Term Memory

How long does the test take?

The test time may vary, but the seven tests that make up the standard battery of tests (Cognitive Standard) should take approximately 5 minutes per test. So the entire test time for the Cognitive Standard 7 tests should be about 35-45 minutes. However, there are additional extended tests that may also be administered for a more comprehensive diagnostic assessment.

Is your child's test date approaching? Learn about how to prepare for the Woodcock-Johnson III Tests of Cognitive Abilities here.

Liquid error (sections/article-template line 118): Could not find asset snippets/relatedblogs.liquid